Why Teachers Will Love Dropbox

Look, I am writing this post for two reasons.

Reason #1:  I need more space in my Dropbox and I’ll get more if I refer you.  Convincing you to join is easy, because once you try it for yourself, you’ll see how great it is.

Reason #2:  I know that if only you had a friend to encourage you to use Dropbox, you would.  Dropbox will make you life soooooo much easier.  Let me tell you why.

Back to Reason #1:  Please click this link so I can get some credit for you.  I don’t even remember how I found out about Dropbox.  I may have been searching for some alternative to flashdrives and came across it.  I do remember watching the overview video and saying to myself, let me give it a try.

Immediately, I saw how useful it was for me.  As a teacher, I’m always creating worksheets, downloading pdfs, graphic organizers, articles, creating student videos, taking student pictures, etc. etc. etc.  As an entrepreneur, I’m doing the same things as well, as I work on business plans, put my ideas in writing, and compile a database of resources.

Before using Dropbox, I had a work computer (mac), two personal computers (mac and pc), about a dozen flashdrives for my use and student use, and too many moments at work when I had to search for a computer that had a printer I could use.

Teachers, you know that desperate feeling when ALL I WANT TO DO IS PRINT SO I CAN MAKE COPIES + WHERE’S THE FLASHDRIVE? + I DON’T HAVE ONE SO LET ME EMAIL IT TO MYSELF!

In short, FILE MADNESS was my schizophrenic-like mental disorder until I discovered Dropbox.

Dropbox is also extremely useful for schools.  If you conduct a google search for “dropbox + schools” you will see blogs and posts by educators and administrators who have been capitalizing on it’s features.

Competition

Google Docs:  I am also a fan of Google Docs, but I find it cumbersome to use at times.  With Google Docs, you really have to pick and choose your purpose for using it.  On the following two grounds, I find it offers less than stellar capabilities:

  1. Integrity of Document:  Using the upload feature that allows others to share editing capabilities of a document will actually distort the document’s appearance.  In other words, fonts, graphs, charts, tables, pictures, etc. would become screwed up.
  2. Organizational Features:  Storing files in an organized fashion is tricky.  Also, there’s the added confusion of remembering whether you saved your document in Google Docs or on your computer.  Dropbox solves the organization issue by using the same format you would use to save files in a folder similar to the “My Documents Folder” that everyone is familiar with.  Also, you can still share individual files and/or folders with others.  (To get the best of both worlds, I would ask students, for example, to use Google Docs for the revision/edit process, but save the final and publishable draft for an upload to Dropbox.)

Ebackpack.com:  Ebackpack provides a line of service similar to Dropbox.  It is also tailored to school needs such as providing class and school accounts.  I find it pretty interesting, but am not willing to switch from Dropbox to this service.  Dropbox is expanding and growing, they also seem to be engaged with the needs of their clients.  However, you may want to also check out Ebackpack.

Try Dropbox

Dropbox makes file storage easy, simple, and streamlined.

Back to Reason #1:  Please click this link so I can get some credit for you.  (lol.)

Leave your thoughts, but not your mind.

